Decoy

Revamp GFL Homepage

Posted  Edited by Decoy

Using my experience as a business owner, I've been thinking of ideas to help GFL. There are several areas where GFL can improve, I've been discussing these ideas with @Roy. One major area is GFL's homepage. Roy touched on this a little in one of his status updates. What I've proposed is taking cues from large online businesses.

The idea I'll explain today is essentially simplifying the homepage to convert more visitors into members. It's best to imagine every visitor as a drunk person with A.D.D. You need to grab their attention as quickly as possible without overwhelming them.

Let's take a look at Evernote for example:

evernote-cta.thumb.png.fa5b14ce8fa8080b3380ccc43fdd0d3d.png

Notice their homepage is very clean and simple. When a new visitor lands on their page, they immediately know what Evernote is, how it will benefit them, and they're able to sign up quickly and easily.

We can see this same practice with Dropbox:

dropbox-cta-1.thumb.png.ba0e062d8135cc02ab2e298b33007233.png

There is an obvious objective here, that is to capture a visitor's attention and get them to sign up. Once a user is signed up, we can follow through with other objectives (I'll elaborate in follow up threads).

In the last 90 days GFL has had over 210,000 visits:

gflstats.PNG.c367575c7ba976fb9967cc093c1266be.PNG

That's 17,500 visits per week, or nearly 2,500 visits per day. 62% of visitors are immediately turning away. That's a massive amount of potential members.

We need to capitalize on GFL's traffic. Revamping the homepage to more effectively acquire new members is just the first step. :) 

Edited by Decoy

I agree 100% on this. We will be doing this in the near future once the About GFL project is complete. With that said, @Decoy has been giving me many other ideas for GFL as well and we've been discussing them for quite some time now.

This is just the first step out of many we will be taking!

Thanks!