Brother May

Day of Defeat: Source Server

Hello, I am Brother May/Hank, I have been playing on GFL servers for 6 years (Since June 2013). I am very experienced with Counter-Strike Source Zombie Escape, which is the game I have nearly 2000 hours in. I am friends with the admins of this server and I love to see it prosper. Recently, I picked up Day of Defeat: Source in the Steam summer sale.  This is what I consider a sibling game to CS:S and is easy to jump right into and have fun. It's one of the most fun WW2 shooters ever made, in my opinion. I was exploring new servers and the community was not friendly at all to the newcomers who picked it up on sale. The admins across multiple servers aren't friendly either. It's no wonder why this game is in entropy and no one plays it. Yes, it is an old game. However an old game combined with awful administration makes it even worse. So here I am coming to GFL proposing we make a server with friendly admins to revive this game, and keep it running smoothly for years, and not discourage anyone from playing.  I want to hear people say, "If you want to play Day of Defeat: Source you should play on the GFL server, they're the best server in that game."

Would love to hear back from you guys soon.

Brother May

We did try a Day of Defeat: Source server probably around 1 - 2 years ago. It unfortunately didn't do so well.

While the game's player base is small nowadays, there doesn't appear to be many servers according to my game tracking website here along with some pretty decent numbers (e.g. the Pop/Servers ratio):

https://pop.browser.tf/index.php?appid=300&mode=0

If others are up for it, I wouldn't mind trying another server.

Thanks!

Ah fuck it. A DoD:S server won't take much CPU and we have the room for it on our third machine plus I used to love playing the game. DoD:S has better numbers than FoF and PVKII which are both doing fairly well.