Roy

Pterodactyl - Mount Multiple Volumes To Container

Hey everyone,

I just wanted to post some code I've modified in Pterodactyl's daemon to support mounting another volume to the Docker container game servers/applications are running in. I would recommend reading more about Docker volumes here. I'm still a bit of a noob when it comes to file systems (sadly something I've kinda lacked in, at least in-depth understanding), but I'm starting to learn a lot more and I think this is a good start :) 

Warning - The below is somewhat messy because nothing is official yet until the to-do list is implemented. If you'd like to help with any of this and are an experienced developer, please feel free to :) 

Back Story + Benefits

This is a project I started yesterday after installing Pterodactyl locally on a VM I dedicated to it. This project is being used to host our Killing Floor 2 servers which have the same base files mounted. The benefits of this are:

• Less space being consumed since you're using the same volume for each game server/application.
  • Less maintenance. For example, if you need to update all the game servers using the volume, you only need to update the volume's base files and all game servers using that volume will be updated.

I will not be doing a pull request on the Pterodactyl GitHub repository because this project isn't finished yet and I still have quite a bit to implement as time goes on to consider anything solid at the moment. The current configuration works to our needs which is why I'm posting it, though.

To-Do List

Here is everything on my to-do list for the project: