Joshy

Java in Eclipse and Programming with Graphics

Posted  Edited by Joshy

For starters and to be candid: This topic is not my strong point and my verbiage is weak.  My background is very hardware-oriented using code to control things and to interpret data.  Feel free to blast at it or to make suggestions.  I also want to give a special shout out to my sister for the programming inspiration.  My previous guides on programming were a great way to start walking and make some programming progress, but I understand that making text-based calculators and games can be less exciting.  The previous guide can be found in the thread below and covers functions, which will be used in this tutorial; it has links to prior threads if any further review may be helpful.

The next step is to begin using high-level object-oriented programming.  The goal here isn't so much to be the cleanest, the most efficient, prettiest neither the most intelligent approach.  Similar to the other guides: It's to help new users get started, but now we'll be jogging a little bit and it's up to the readers to run.  This guide will not be using Quincy like the other guide, but a lot of the strategies still work here ie. loops and conditional statements.  We'll be using Eclipse IDE for Java Developers.  The software may complain asking for a Virtual Machine.  I'm not a big fan of the virtual machine, and so I recommend installing the Java JDK.