Roy

[Go] Pterodactyl Game Server Watch

Hey everyone,

I just wanted to share my newest project! I decided to switch up for one day and instead of programming in C, program in Go/GoLang. This Go tool sends A2S_INFO requests to specified servers inside of a config file. If the server fails to respond to x amount of A2S_INFO requests, it will attempt to kill the server and start it again via the Pterodactyl API.

This is helpful for servers that are hung meaning they technically didn't crash, but something is taking up so many resources that the server is unplayable or offline (most likely a poorly coded addon with an infinite loop).

I'd like to mention I'm still fairly new to Golang. There are probably improvements I can make but the program ultimately works and I've tested it!

Here's the information!

Description
A tool programmed in Go to automatically restart 'hung' game servers/containers via a Pterodactyl API (version 0.7). This only supports game servers that respond to the A2S_INFO query (a Valve Master Server query).

Config File
The config file's default path is /etc/pterowatch/pterowatch.conf. This should be a JSON array including the API URL, token, and an array of servers to check against. The main options are the following:

• apiURL => The Pterodactyl API URL.
  • token => The bearer token to use when sending HTTP POST requests to the Pterodactyl API.
  • servers => An array of servers to check against (read below).

The servers array should contain the following members:

• enable => If true, this server will be scanned.
  • ip => The IP to send A2S_INFO requests to.
  • port => The port to send A2S_INFO requests to.
  • uid => The server's Pterodactyl UID.
  • scantime => How often to scan a game server/container in seconds.
  • maxfails => The maximum amount of A2S_INFO response failures before attempting to restart the game server/container.