Duck.

Time for some new donation options?

Posted  Edited by Duck.

I am no expert when it comes to donations, but while I was SM and even during this stint as admin, I've had people ask me if Paypal is the only way to donate and when I tell them yes, it puts them off donating as they don't want a Paypal account or are too young for one. Maybe it's time to trial new payment types? Like I said, I am not an expert at web design or payment types, however a lot of websites have options to pay directly with Credit/Debit cards and that's easier to understand for their parents too instead of having to teach them about Paypal and what it is (A lot of older people aren't too tech savvy, but they do understand "put numbers here").

Just some food for thought, curious to know what y'all think.

EDIT: https://www.gmodstore.com/market/view/prometheus mayhaps???

Edited by Duck.

Achievements

We do have the option of paying directly via Debit/Credit Card, and it does not require a PayPal account. This is illustrated in the images below:

Step 1:

Spoiler

image.png

Step 2:

Spoiler

image.png

I'll look into seeing if I can just put a link straight to the "Pay by Debit or Credit Card" option in GFLDonations so that people can simply "put numbers here". 😉

In response to you bringing up Promethus... it has two extra payment processers that do the same, but they both suck dick, hard:

• Stripe has no chargeback protection, and if you get charged back as the "owner" you need to pay a fee, similar to PayPal, however, PayPal has a reviews system for this which allows the owner to not pay a fee and not have the charge back go through if the request is found to be illegitimate, Stripe does not have this system in place. 
  • Paymentwall requires further ID. That sucks, and who the fuck has ever heard of Paymentwall anyway? Plus, they take a pretty high cut from every transaction.